Volume 1
01. High Wide & Handsome
02. Took My Gal Out Walkin’
03. I’m The Man Who Rode The Mule Around The World
04. My Mother & My Sweetheart
05. Bill Mason’s Bride
06. Goodbye Booze
07. Old Ballyhoo
08. Little Waterloo
09. I’m Glad I’m Married
10. Mother’s Last Farewell Kiss
11. Acres of Diamonds
13. If I Lose
14. The Great Reaping Day
15. Where The Whippoorwill Is Whispering Goodnight
Volume 2
01. The Man In The Moon
03. No Knees
04. Moving Day
05. Old and Only In the Way
06. Ragtime Annie
07. Sweet Sunny South
08. The Letter That Never Came
09. Awful Hungry Hash House
10. Rowena
11. Didn’t He Ramble
12. Ramblin’ Blues
13. Charlie’s Last Song
15. High Wide & Handsome (reprise)
Loudon Wainwright III

High Wide & Handsome

Produced by Dick Connette 

“Poole might have been waiting all these years for someone to talk back to him so completely in his own language; Wainwright might have been waiting since he first heard Charlie Poole to get up the nerve to do it.” - Greil Marcus 

A grand gathering of songs, both old and original — Loudon Wainwright revisits the life, times, and recorded legacy of legendary singer and banjo picker Charlie Poole (1892-1931). Guest appearances by Martha Wainwright, Rufus Wainwright, Sloan Wainwright, Lucy Wainwright Roche, and Maggie, Terre, and Suzzy Roche. Also featuring mandolin virtuoso Chris Thile. The music ranges from back porch to parlor, street corner to music hall — sentimental songs, vaudeville songs, minstrel songs, jazz, gospel, bluegrass, ragtime — a compendium of the strains that have created and continue to create American popular music. Oversize package includes 72 page booklet with lyrics, historical photos, biographical essay by Kinney Rorrer, and notes by Greil Marcus. 

For bonus tracks, videos, and more

Release Date: August 18, 2009